Science – Pulley project

My project was the elevator I am using a fixed pulley because I do not want the pulley to turn around. Here is a video about different types of pulleys:

Simple Machines–Pulley and its types | Grade-4,5 | Science | TutWay | – YouTube

 

Procedure:

1. I got a box and cut the bottom

2. I put a dowel in between

3. I put in a string

4. I attached the string to the platform

5.I attached 3 cardboard pieces together to make another box

6. I attached the box to it

Materials:

1.dowel

2.string

3.cardboard

4.tape and hot glue

Hypothesis:

My hypothesis was that it would go up/down depending on how the string i knew this because pulleys work by spinning the thing that pulls something up(aka pulley) that is attached to the platform so when I spin it the platform goes up.

Results:

 

Conclusion

My conclusion was correct the pulley pulled up the platform and the system work however I did have to make some adjustments. My adjustments were:

1.Cutting a lot of the box to make space

2.Attaching two boxes together because one wasn’t enough

3.Creating support platforms for it to stand

4.Using a bigger dowel because the smaller one couldn’t fit

5. The first one broke so I had to remake most of the pulley system and add more support to stop it from falling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *